Based in Washington, Ross is a general manager of a food safety company. His musings explore life, work and every moment in between.

The 7 Stages of a Project

The life of a project:

Stage 1: This is the best idea ever

Stage 2: Ok, this is harder than I thought

Stage 3: This is gonna take some work

Stage 4: This sucks – and it’s boring

Stage 5: (Dark night of the soul)

Stage 6: It will be good to finish because I’ll learn something for next time

Stage 7: It’s done and it sucks, but not as bad as I thought

               -Maureen McHugh

Many of my projects, assignments and parts of my life have followed this cycle. This rush of euphoria at the beginning of the journey, the realization that it is going to be hard, the first inclination to quit or ask to not finish the project, and then dark night of the soul. Dark night of the soul refers to the part of the project where the only asset to get you through this stage is mental fortitude. This stage is filled with regret, self-pity, procrastination, anger, misdirected anger and apologies to those with which we took our anger. Eventually we make it through and decide to finish. Finally, we complete the project and we’re proud of it, but we know it could have been better and we can see all the things wrong with it, but it is done. And it was not as bad as we thought it was going to be when we were in the dark night of the soul.

2017 Summer Reading List

Apologies can be tricky.